Junae Benne
3 min readApr 30, 2024

Games for a Living (GFAL), is a startup dedicated to producing games using a blockchain system with Web3 and AI. The GFAL team is former Electronic Arts (EA), Activision Blizzard employees, and vice president. GFAL had a soft launch in 2023 with Elemental Riders, a mobile turn-based PVE & PVP.

Web3 is an extension of blockchain to help decentralize money and use tokens for a more people-based currency.

NFTS are digital identifiers saying you’re the owner of a piece of art, internet, or any digital item that can be transferred from person to person.

Blockchain is a financial service that records transactions and ownership, making them transparent to the public.

I’ve been hearing a lot about Web3 in terms of Cryptocurrency and NFTs (non-fungible tokens). That’s not my area of expertise. I researched it — I don’t get it. It feels like gambling and I’m not a gambler. Hearing about it in terms of gaming threw me for a loop. What does NFT have to do with gaming? Especially after hearing about the scams and illegitimacy of NFTs. I’ve been seeing gaming/gaming journalist job listings requesting NFT knowledge. I don’t particularly like seeing that because gaming journalism isn’t taken as seriously as sports or local news. Games journalists learn many skills just to be worthy of a paycheck. As a journalist, or any profession, we do have to keep up with the times. I’m not upset at honing and gaining new skills. The issue is, that Web3, Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, and NFTs are unsure and not regulated.

ESL, Supercell, Digital Chocolate, Netflix, King Entertainment, and Mitch Lasky are just a few investors of GFAL who think mixing NFTs and video games is a great idea. GFAL acquired over $4 million in funding since they started their company in 2021. game.

What does this have to do with gaming? NFTs are being pushed into gaming to appeal to the idea of owning a skin, a gun, an asset, or a character. This also gives players a say in the game. NFTs in gaming answer the question I had a few newsletters ago when I asked, ‘What is the draw to getting DLC if you’ll never see your skins again when the game goes offline?’ It does raise another question, who has the money to buy a Nicki Minaj Call of Duty skin?

The GFAL currency, $GFAL, is worth $254,717,017 per token.

One more thing, looking at the team of GFAL there are 36 employees, 8% are women. I’d like to see who they add to the team next. Well, two more things, the website descriptions aren’t straightforward. I couldn’t find a company mission statement, why the company created a Web3 game development studio, or how players become developers. If this is about players owning assets and game say, shouldn’t players be able to become developers? I see mostly an explanation of $GFAL currency, why blockchain and web3 are great for gaming, and the resume of the time.

I love it when games and art are accessible to the people. I’m apprehensive about blockchain, web3, and NFTs. The funding doesn’t guarantee GFAL success. I’m sure we’ll see some copycats. Let’s see where this goes.

To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber to A Littel Tech Alotta Gamer.

Join my Discord to talk about writing, games, and tech!

Junae Benne

Junae Benne, first of her name, player of video games, voice of justice and equality, writer of literature & memes.